Liliane Bettencourt Prize for Life Sciences 2020

This prize honours the work of a European researcher under the age of 45, recognised by the scientific community for the quality of their publications and their status as a leader in the relevant field. The prize totals €300,000, comprising a personal award of €100,000 to the winning researcher and €200,000 to the researcher’s laboratory to carry out a research project.

Researchers are eligible to apply who are:
•    The leader of a life sciences research project
•    A national of a member state of the European Union or the European Free Trade Association
•    Under 45 years old at 1 January 2020 (this can be extended on presentation of supporting documents to account for parental leave, long term illness or national service)
•    Working in a laboratory in an EU or EFTA member state

The University has been invited to nominate 3 candidates to the Foundation to make initial applications, after which they may be invited to submit a full application in December 2019.

Interested applicants must submit the following information via IRAMS by noon on 24 July 2019:
•    A short CV (maximum 2 pages)
•    A summary of research projects, main scientific contributions and discoveries
•    A list of their 10 most representative publications from the last 15 years
The CV and Case for Support template must be combined into a single PDF to be uploaded to IRAMS.

Applications will be reviewed by an interdivisional committee and the 3 successful candidates will be notified by 1 August. They must then submit the 3 items listed above, plus a letter of recommendation from the University, to the Foundation’s online platform by 9 August 2019.

Further information on the call, including the full rules and eligibility criteria, and details of previous laureates can be found on the Foundation Bettencourt Schueller website.

The Foundation has a stated commitment to rewarding talent, excellence and innovation in any field of life sciences. However the Foundation has three priority themes for the upcoming years: HIV, autism and hearing. Applicants specialising in these areas are particularly encouraged to apply.

The prize is only open to researchers who are nationals of and who are based in a member state of the European Union. At the time of making the award in 2020 the United Kingdom may no longer be a member of the EU. However the Foundation has specifically invited the University of Oxford to nominate candidates for the prize, which is taken to be confirmation of our candidates’ eligibility. The Foundation has also been asked to confirm in writing that researchers with British nationality and researchers based in the UK are eligible to apply.

If you have any questions please contact

List of site pages