REF Project Board


The REF Project Board is a sub-committee of the University’s Research & Innovation Committee, whose membership has been revised for REF 2021. The terms of reference were agreed by the board on 8 October 2018 and presented as paper RC(18)57, Appendix 1, to the Research & Innovation Committee.

The Research & Innovation Committee approved the terms of reference on 10 October 2018.

The REF Project Board will report in an advisory capacity to Research & Innovation Committee on the following:

  • strategic overview of the timetable and preparations for all elements of the REF submission, including oversight of risks related to the project
  • appropriate strategies and policies relating to the REF submission
  • progress against fulfilling the funding councils’ requirements for the REF submission, including equality considerations and compliance with data requirements, and agreement and implementation of the REF 2021 code of practice across the University

In addition to the strategic tasks listed above the board will:

  • provide a forum to discuss issues arising within units of assessment and divisions during REF preparations, and to agree optimum approaches
  • recommend to Research & Innovation Committee any resources required for REF preparation which will need to be put to PRAC as a bid


Members and attending officers

REF Project Board membership
Name Position
Professor Patrick Grant Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) who shall chair the sub-committee

Professor Keith Channon

Academic REF lead for Medical Sciences Division

Professor Robert Taylor

Professor Charlotte Deane

Academic REF lead for Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division

Associate Head (Research)

Professor Sarah Whatmore

Professor Mark Pollard

Academic REF lead for Social Sciences Division

Associate Head (Research)

Professor Karen O'Brien

Professor Daniel Grimley

Academic REF lead for Humanities Division

Associate Head (Research)

Professor Sir John Vickers One of the two Conference of Colleges representatives on Research & Innovation Committee
Professor Helen Small Research & Innovation Committee representative
Professor Paul Smith Gardens, Libraries and Museums representative

Professor Tom Buchanan

Department for Continuing Education representative
Dr Stephen Conway Director of Research Services, senior officer with responsibility for REF

Attending officers

Kirsty Allen, REF Programme Manager and secretary

Dr Anne Mortimer, Deputy REF Programme Manager and note-taker

Adrienne Hopkins, Head of Equality and Diversity

Sarah Thonemann, Deputy Director, Personnel Services

Liz Mitchell, Head of HR Information

MSD: Leila Whitworth, Michele Warren

MPLS: Dr Keri Dexter, Rosie Collins

SSD: Dr Sam Sneddon, Dr Tim Davies

Humanities: Dr Andrew Fairweather-Tall, Becky Lumbard

Judith Finch, Conference of Colleges