Research Information Management and Technology Sub-Committee (RIMTS)

Meeting dates

Meeting date Time Deadline for papers Deadline for funding requests
16 October 2017 2–4pm 6 October 2017 n/a
11 December 2017 2–4pm 1 December 2017 n/a
16 January 2018 2–4pm 6 January 2018 n/a
6 March 2018 2–4pm 26 February 2018 16 February 2018
19 April 2018 2–4pm 9 April 2018 30 March 2018
11 June 2018 2–4pm 1 June 2018 23 May 2018


RIMTS SharePoint site (for members only)

Contact: Dr Lotte Boon (Secretary)

The Research Information Management and Technology Sub-committee acts as the Research IT Board. It has responsibilities to both IT Committee (ITC) and Research & Innovation Committee (RIC).

1. In relation to Research & Innovation Committee: to provide expert advice and make recommendations on the following, both in response to direct referrals and arising from its own review:

i) to give strategic consideration to the management of information for enhancing the research mission of the University;
ii) to facilitate the development of policy and support structures designed to ensure effective management of academic research data and records; and
iii) to maintain oversight of the strategy and implementation policy for the collection and organisation of data on outputs, impacts and research environment to meet the requirements of the Research Excellent Framework (REF) and those of other research funders (eg UKRI).

2. In relation to Research & Innovation Committee and IT Committee:

i) to review and agree priorities across all areas of research IT having regard for applications, systems and hardware infrastructure, taking account of the University’s Strategic Plan, its IT Strategic Plan and its Digital Strategy; and
ii) to recommend an annual plan for investment within this framework of agreed priorities and to keep it under regular review.

3. In relation to IT Committee:

i) to recommend, and where applicable, approve IT project initiation within the wider framework of agreed approval processes for capital spend and taking account of Value for Money;
ii) to monitor progress and expenditure on IT projects within its domain, receiving reports from associated project and programme boards;
iii) to review on an annual basis, the efficiency and Value for Money of IT services in its domain, receiving an update from IT Services and the Bodleian Libraries; and 
iv) to provide an annual report on research IT projects and activities to IT Committee, and to contribute to the ongoing development of the IT Strategic Plan.

At or before the start of each academic year, RIMTS will report to Research & Innovation Committee and IT Committee on ongoing and prospective projects. The planned portfolio of projects will be agreed by both committees, with Research & Innovation Committee taking responsibility for ensuring that projects are aligned with the University’s strategic goals and priorities for research, and IT Committee overseeing the alignment with overall IT objectives.

RIMTS is, subject to other guidelines, authorised by IT Committee to approve capital expenditure of up to £300,000 per project from the Board's notional rolling three year allocation from the IT capital envelope.  RIMTS will provide reports to the IT Committee on all such approvals and there will be an annual review to guide its decisions and future plans regarding project spending.

Members and attending officers

Name Position
Professor Ian Walmsley Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation) who shall chair the committee
Dr Jonathan Bright One academic person appointed by the Social Sciences Division
Dr Sam Sneddon One person appointed by the Social Sciences Division
Professor Richard Katz One academic person appointed by the MPLS Division

Martin Edmunds

One person appointed by the MPLS Division

Professor Matthew Wood

One academic person appointed by the Medical Sciences Division
Tony Brett One person appointed by the Medical Sciences Division
Dr Jacob Dahl One academic person appointed by the Humanities Division
Dr Andrew Fairweather-Tall One person appointed by the Humanities Division
Andrew Bonnie One person from GLAM
Mike Hutchinson Programme Manager (Research), IT Services
Dr Philip Fowler

For agenda items relating to IT investment: one person from the Advanced Research Computing Advisory Board

Dr Dai Jenkins

Head of Research Computing and Support Services, IT Services

Dr Moritz Riede

One (academic) IT Fellow who has been appointed by the Conference of Colleges

Dr Richard Liwicki Acting Director, Research Services

Dr Phil Clare

Associate Director, Research Services

Dr Eugenio Barrio Research Information Manager, Research Services


Members are appointed for three years in the first instance, but appointments are renewable. Members are asked to provide a range of perspectives, ie divisional, departmental and users/non-users. Terms of office are staggered to avoid all appointments being up for renewable at the same time.

RIMTS has the facility to co-opt up to two persons for a year in the first instance, but renewable.

RIMTS will consult with other University bodies as required, for example the IT Architecture Advisory Group (ITAAG) and the Management Committee for Advanced Research Computing (ARC).

RIMTS is expected to meet twice a term. In the interest of efficiency, business may be conducted between meetings with the agreement of the chair and members.

The quorum for meetings shall be four people, who are either members or administrative persons nominated by the four academic divisions. The members should be external to IT Services for the quorum to be satisfied.

List of site pages