Open Access Steering Group

The Open Access Steering Group is a collaborative group comprising Research Services, the Bodleian Libraries, OUP and the academic divisions. The Steering Group is where both the service providers of the Open Access Service and the consumers of this service are represented. Furthermore, the Steering Group aims to provide oversight and coordination on all matters open access, and to advise colleagues on priorities and key issues. The Steering Group is accountable to the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Research and Innovation Committee, and generally meets six times every year.

Meeting dates
Date Time
Tuesday 19 October 2021 4–5pm
Tuesday 2 December 2021


Tuesday 8 February 2022 4–5pm
Tuesday 3 May 2022 4–5pm
Thursday 30 June 2022 4–5pm



1. To advise and seek views from Research & Innovation Committee on

a. changes to the University’s Open Access Publications Policy anticipating and reacting to developments in Open Access dissemination both nationally and internationally, to best serve the University’s constituent parts

b. the allocation policy for Open Access block grants to ensure funds are allocated equitably without resulting in overspends or underspends

c. the consequent long terms resources implications of meeting the University’s responsibilities

2. To undertake advocacy and influence funders’ open access policies, including UKRI, Wellcome and COAF, together with publishers’ open access policies

3. To ensure implementation and compliance of the REF 2021 open access policy and the open access policies of subsequent REF exercises 

4. To monitor changing funder requirements and helping researchers to meet these, keeping a watching brief on open access policies of significant funders at Oxford, and providing advice on changing requirements, ways to comply, sources of funding

5. To advise the Research Information Management and Technology Subcommittee on the system and related IT requirements of the Open Access service, for example Symplectic Elements and the Oxford Research Archive (ORA) or their replacements, their performance and enhancements, having regard for recommendations from the Open Access Operational Group and the Symplectic Elements User Forum

6. To advise on information and training for researchers and administrative staff, for example Bodleian iSkills training sessions, other training, OAO website, subject librarian support services 


Open Access Steering Group membership
  Name   Conditions of appointment
1 Dr Tanita Casci Director, Research Strategy and Policy
2 Dr Armando Román Zozaya One person nominated by the Social Sciences Division
3 Martin Edmunds One person nominated by the MPLS Division
4 Michele Warren One person nominated by the Medical Sciences Division
5 Dr Andrew Fairweather-Tall One person nominated by the Humanities Division
6 Dr Deepa Nath One person from an academic department
7 Andrew Bonnie Interim Associate Director, Scholarly Resources
8 Ruth Mallalieu Head of Open Scholarship Support
9 Jason Partridge Open Access Service Manager
10 Beth Gibbs Head of Open Access Collections
11 Jonathan McAslan E-Resources and Open Access APC Manager
12 Andy Redman One person nominated by OUP
13 Dr Lotte Boon Research Information Lead, who shall serve as secretary to the group
14 Kirsty Allen Research Environment Lead and Head of REF Delivery 
15 Dr Eugenio Barrio Research Information Manager
16 Dr Anne Mortimer Research Evaluation Manager


Members are encouraged to nominate a deputy when they are unable to attend a meeting. OASG has the facility to co-opt additional people for fixed periods of time, depending on the focus of the group at a particular time.